The first All-Russia Conference of Municipalities


The ISEPR Foundation co-organized All-Russia conference of municipalities

The conference took place in Suzdal on November 7-8. It was dedicated to the anniversary of the main documents in the area of local government: the 10th anniversary of the adoption of the Federal Law 131-FZ «Concerning the General Principles of the Organization of Local Government in the Russian Federation», the 15th anniversary of the ratification by Russia of the «European Charter of Local Self-Government» and 20th anniversary of the Russian Federation Constitution.

The conference was attended by Dmitry Kozak, deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation; Igor Slyunyayev, Minister of Regional Development; Igor Manylov, first deputy of the Minister of Agriculture; members of the Council of the Federation and deputies of the State Duma, representatives of the regional authorities and municipalities, expert community, business circles and civil society.

Deputy chairman of the federal government said during his speech: «Municipal authority is a very important level of power. We must create an atmosphere in this country that allows municipal authorities to respond to requests from their local society.»

President of the All-Russia Congress of Municipalities Stepan Kirichuk and Chairman of the All-Russia Council for the Local Self-Government Development Vyacheslav Timchenko also made speeches.

During the conference heads of federal executive bodies participated in 6 expert sessions:

Optimizing the powers of local governments. Opportunities and prospects, Effective municipal economy, Villages - the basis of local government. Expectations and realities, Territories of the municipalities - strategies and innovations. The best municipal practices, Local government - the power of the people, civil initiatives and Professionals - the key resource of the municipal development.

The initiatives developed during the conference will be systematized in the near future and addressed to the President of Russia Vladimir Putin.

Back to list